top of page
  • Writer's pictureSue

Broken Heart, Busy Hands, and a Big Journey Ahead

Updated: Mar 4, 2019


I marched for life in my nation's capital on January 18, 2019.

I marched for life in a dress that was covered in baby clothes.

I marched for life in that dress because I had to.


In November 2018, my heart broke again. My heart broke because so many babies are killed because they are deemed to be inferior. Abortion is a tool of eugenics.

Babies of color and babies that are cognitively and developmentally differently-enabled have been killed by the hundreds of thousands.

When I learned that devastating fact, my heart broke again.


I grieve for every baby that was deemed to be unworthy of love.


Every life is worth loving, no exceptions.


Love protects.


God gave me an idea as my broken heart was aching.

He inspired me to show my love for the unborn in a creative way.

I love clothes, especially dresses. I also love babies--why not put the two together?


I watched God provide everything I needed and then I sewed and sewed and sewed.

Then I was ready to march for life.

God did big things with my dress that day.


"I believe that if we would stir an affection for the unborn, it would fuel us to protect them."


As I walked through D.C. on the evening of the march,

I passed a homeless man who called out to me,


"That's a beautiful dress! You should make more of those! You could make a killing!"


His compliment was very flattering.

But then I kept thinking about his rhetoric and realized just how sobering it is.


I don't want to make a killing, I want to stop a killing.


Five days later on January 23rd, my littlest niece Leanne Hope came out of her momma's belly.

Five days later on January 23rd, the state of New York legalized abortion up to birth.

My heart broke again.

A punch to the gut in every pro-life advocate who celebrated the value of unborn children just days earlier in D.C.

I wanted to just break down and cry.


God, how can this be?


I felt powerless to do any more than I had already done.


Devastated and broken-hearted, I knew there was one thing I could do.

I could crochet a blanket for my brand new niece.

I love to crochet.

I've crocheted lots of blankets for lots of babies.

But, I'd been so busy sewing my baby clothes dress that I hadn't gotten Leanne's blanket ready for her arrival. Shame on me.


As I crocheted her blanket, I began thinking about my unforgettable weekend in D.C. and the dress that made so many waves in the ocean of pro-life advocates that flooded the National Mall.


Was it all over?


I know God used my dress on march day, but was He finished with it?


My busy hands kept working faithfully as my mind wondered deep into God's new task for me.


Here we are, 3 days into my new project. We've got a big journey ahead.


God, some how you are going to accomplish all of this in the next 4 months before I graduate college.

I don't know how You are going to do it, but some how You are.

This is going to explode.

Young women all across America are going to send a powerful message with their prom dress this year.

Young women are going to stand for life in a beautiful, creative way.

Thank you for letting me be part of it, God.


143 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page